top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlastar Connor

A glimpse of beauty

The other day I tipped my head sideways to look at something in the mirror and I thought to myself how much prettier I looked tipped way to the side. I saw myself in a whole new way. Then I thought how we probably are so hard on ourselves about our looks because we are bored with seeing the same person every day and by tipping my head I was looking at a different version of me and was able to see the beauty. This morning I read this quote and it really explains things so perfectly. We all need to remember this about our own beauty. It was what I told someone just the other day about her developing wrinkles that she sees and I don't. I see her the way the quote describes and I see her beauty.

"It doesn’t make sense to call ourselves ugly, because we don’t really see ourselves. We don’t watch ourselves sleeping in bed, curled up and silent with chests rising and falling with our own rhythm. We don’t see ourselves reading a book, eyes fluttering and glowing. You don’t see yourself looking at someone with love and care inside your heart. There’s no mirror in your way when you’re laughing and smiling and happiness is leaking out of you. You would know exactly how bright and beautiful you are if you saw yourself in the moments where you are truly yourself."

27 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Hearing Aids. A love letter to a small device.

On Hearing Aids. A love letter to a small device. (Send this to anyone who needs the fear taken out of this life-changing technology.) I feel I owe this to any of you who you think need hearing aids.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page