top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlastar Connor

Silence

I hate bedtime

The quiet reminds me

That silence no longer exists


The background buzz of living

During the day

drowns it out


But in the dark stillness

The noise is deafening

Can you hear it?

The tinny tang of tinnitus


Like a swarm of crickets

hovering over my house

A high-pitched electric whine

That never stops


Heavy metal guitar solo

Playing me a headache

Inside my brain

Where the non-stop noise lives


Forever seems like a long time

One day at a time

Meditate it away

For a moment

Enjoying the elusive peace

That evades me.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tap Tap-Tap (2021)

rain pelting hard against my window tap tap-tap tap tap strong winds whooshing like a fast train passing by snuggled in my bed our home so cozy with a good book by lamplight and a sense of peace after

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page